news from the island
Underground Sounds – Concerts At The Cave Continue This Weekend

Friday May 8, 2015

Underground Sounds – Concerts At The Cave Continue This Weekend

The Classical Orchestra of Lanzarote return to the atmospheric underground environs of the Cueva de los Verde this weekend for the second date in a series of six Concerts At The Cave. Which this Saturday, May 9th, sees the homegrown quintet showcase piano compositions by Shostakovich and Mozart.

Both of these classic compositions were written to be performed by a quintet or a quartet with piano accompaniment: Quartet with piano in G minor K.478 (Mozart) and Quintet with Piano in G minor Op.57 (Shostakovich).

The Mozart composition was the result of a commission for three quartets by Franz Anton Hoffmeister in 1785, whilst the Shostakovich passage wasn’t written until 1940, at the behest of the Beethoven Quartet.

And the music will be brought to life by a quintet comprising Johanna Kegel on violoncello, Esther Alonso on the viola, violinists Eduardo Langarica and Juan Carlos Gomez and pianist Ana Belen Gutierrez.

Tickets cost €20 and are available from the offices of the Centres for Art and Culture with the concert beginning at 21.00.

More Concerts At The Cave in 2015

September 5th            Mediterraneum
October 3rd                 Classical Orchestra de Lanzarote
November 7th            Classical Orchestra de Lanzarote
December 26th          Ensemble Arione


Back to Events
blog comments powered by Disqus